The government places Ifugao under MECQ; Puerto Princesa added to GCQ zones

Government puts Ifugao province under second toughest level of lockdown – modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) – May 1 to 14, while the city of Puerto Princesa in Palawan was placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) throughout the month of May.

The lockdowns of Ifugao and Puerto Princesa have been requested by provincial authorities, Presidential spokesman Herminio L. Roque, Jr., said on Friday at a televised press briefing.

Mr Roque said the Covid-19 task force had also shortened the length of time that the province of Quirino and the city of Santiago in the Cagayan Valley and the province of Abra in the Cordillera administrative region would be under lockdown. changed to only two weeks from the original month.

The National Capital Region Plus (made up of Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal) will remain under MECQ until May 14.

“The promotion of health and the strict application of minimum public health standards in all areas, especially their uniform application in high-risk areas, must continue,” Roque said in a statement. “These areas include healthcare facilities, wet markets, supermarkets, government offices, workplaces and home, among others.”

He said local governments were allowed to implement localized lockdowns to prevent community transmission.

Mr Roque said the task force has also enabled personal care services to operate at an initial capacity of 30% and restaurants to offer indoor meals at an initial capacity of 10% in areas under. MECQ.

On a related note, Mr Roque said the Philippines will lift its entry ban on foreign nationals – except those coming from India or with a history of travel to the country – from the 1st. may. valid and existing visa “except those under the Balikbayan program.”

Travelers must also have pre-booked accommodation for at least seven nights at an accredited hotel or quarantine facility. They must be tested in their quarantine facility “on the sixth day from the date of their arrival”.

The Philippines imposed a travel ban on India from April 29 to May 14 as the South Asian country suffers from a second wave of coronavirus infections. – Kyle Aristophere T. Atienza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *