Rubin Colwill: Wales include uncapped Cardiff City midfielder in Euro 2020 squad | Football News

Cardiff City uncapped midfielder Rubin Colwill has been named to Wales’ squad for Euro 2020.

Colwill, who turned 19 in April, was part of the Cardiff academy squad at the start of the season but will finish them as a member of the national team in a major international tournament after making only six senior appearances.

Robert Page will take charge of Wales in the absence of Ryan Giggs as they try to break out of Group A in this summer’s tournament and reach the round of 16 again after reaching the last four in 2016 under Chris Coleman.

Gareth Bale, who has scored six times in seven appearances when meeting Tottenham at the end of his loan spell at club Real Madrid, will captain the squad.

Rubin Colwill was in the Cardiff academy squad at the start of the season but will end them as a member of the Wales squad at Euro 2020

There are eight survivors of the group who reached the Euro 2016 semi-finals in France – Bale, Ramsey, Ben Davies, Chris Gunter, Danny Ward, Joe Allen, Jonny Williams and Wayne Hennessey.

As expected, Hal Robson-Kanu – released by West Brom last week – missed out after being kicked out of recent training camp.

Derby forward Tom Lawrence and Schalke winger Rabbi Matondo were also left out, with Swansea’s Ben Cabango selected ahead of Luton center-back Tom Lockyer.

Gareth Bale


Gareth Bale says he will offer advice to young Wales players at Euro and that Robert Page’s side will miss having fans in the stadiums for their Group A clashes

Wales start their Euro 2020 campaign against Switzerland in Baku on June 12 before playing Turkey in the Azerbaijani capital four days later. They finish their Group A matches against Italy in Rome on June 20.

Wales squad for Euro 2020

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Daniel Ward (Leicester City), Adam Davies (Stoke City)

Defenders: Chris Gunter (Charlton Athletic), Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur) Connor Roberts (Swansea City), Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea), Chris Mepham (Bournemouth), Joe Rodon (Tottenham Hotspur), James Lawrence (FC St Pauli), Neco Williams (Liverpool), Rhys Norrington-Davies (Sheffield United), Ben Cabango (Swansea City)

Midfielders: Aaron Ramsey (Juventus), Joe Allen (Stoke City), Jonathan Williams (Cardiff City), Harry Wilson (Liverpool), Daniel James (Manchester United), David Brooks (Bournemouth), Joe Morrell (Luton Town), Matthew Smith ( Manchester City), Dylan Levitt (Manchester United), Rubin Colwill (Cardiff City)

Attackers: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Kieffer Moore (Cardiff City), Tyler Roberts (Leeds United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *