US restricts travel from India

From May 4, the United States will deny entry to non-U.S. Citizens if they were present in India within the previous 14 days, due to the severe outbreak of Covid-19 in that country, according to the White House .

The move comes the same week that the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention advised U.S. citizens, even those fully vaccinated against Covid-19, not to travel to India. Over the past two weeks, India has repeatedly set world records for daily new cases of Covid-19, totaling more than 300,000 every day.

Several other countries have already restricted travel from India, including the UK, France, Germany and Canada.

United States maintains entry restrictions on non-citizens of several other countries, including the European Schengen area, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Brazil and South Africa.

The new restrictions on travel from India will take effect at midnight 1 Eastern Daylight Time on May 4, according to the White House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *