New Zealand Cricket announces central contracts for 2021-22 season

Versatile Daryl Mitchell and young Glenn Phillips were offered their first domestic contracts by New Zealand Cricket in the recently announced 20-player list following their brilliant performances in the recent series.

Mitchell replaced the injured Colin de Grandhomme and was part of the New Zealand team on all formats. He seized the opportunity with both hands, scoring his first test and the one-day international centuries. He is currently part of the test team which will play the series against England and the final of the world championship against India.

On the flip side, Phillips thrived in the T20Is – he smashed 366 points at an average of 40.6 including a record ton of 46 balls – the fastest of the century T20I by a Kiwi against the West Indies at Bay Oval. in November of last year. He ousted veteran Ross Taylor to become a permanent member of the T-20 squad.

BJ Watling left the roster after announcing his retirement from all forms of cricket following the World Test Championship (WTC) final in June. Left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel also left the roster after getting his first contract last year. However, Patel will travel to the UK for all three tests next month. Larsen said Patel’s injury kept him from making the list of contracted players.

Patel, the left arm finger thrower, missed the start of last season with a calf injury and although he subsequently made a return to domestic cricket, New Zealand chose not to not to bring him back to the Test action on grounds which largely favored the couturiers.

Players have offered Black Caps contracts for 2021-2022

Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *