Rohr lists Moffi, Musa, 29 others in provisional squad for Cameroon friendly in Austria

Technical advisor Gernot Rohr has drawn up a provisional list of 31 players for Nigeria’s prestigious international friendly match against five-time African champion Cameroon in Austria on Friday 4e June 2021.

The match will take place at the Wiener Neustadt in the Austrian capital, Vienna from 8:30 p.m. Austria time.

Heading the list unveiled on Friday, captain Ahmed Musa, with assistant captain William Ekong, goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, defenders Kenneth Omeruo and Chidozie Awaziem, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards Victor Osimhen , Kelechi Iheanacho and Samuel Chukwueze also called.

Portugal-based Abraham Marcus is called up for the first time and energetic Enyimba FC striker Anayo Iwuala, whose tenacity and drive have helped the People’s elephant in the quarter-finals of the CAF Confederation Cup, has the opportunity to fight for a place and continue in his international footsteps, after cameo appearances against the Republic of Benin and Lesotho in the qualifiers of the CAN in March.

The provisional list of 31 will be reduced to 23 before the Super Eagles fly to Vienna for the clash with their eternal rivals, the Indomitable Lions.

Cameroon have beaten the Eagles for three of their five CAN titles (1984, 1988, 2000) but have not beaten Nigeria in regulation since a 1-0 triumph in a FIFA Cup qualifier. FIFA World 1990 at the Stade Omnisports in Yaoundé on the 27the August 1989.

The Eagles beat the Lions 4-0 in a 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier in Uyo in September 2017 and were forced to a 1-1 draw in the reverse match in Yaoundé, opening the Nigeria qualifies for the final in Russia.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, the Netherlands); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Kevin Akpoguma (Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, The Netherlands); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosa, Cyprus); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Abraham Marcus (CD Feirense, Portugal)

Attackers: Ahmed Musa (Kano Pillars FC); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Sadiq Umar (Almeria FC, Spain); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Anayo Iwuala (Enyimba FC); Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Simy Nwankwo (Crotone FC, Italy)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *